Madeleine Albright was the guest at the fourth edition of WEASA
Madeleine Albright was the guest at the fourth edition of WEASA

The fourth edition of Warsaw Euro-Atlantic Summer Academy (WEASA) - a common undertaking of PAFF, the German Marshall Fund of the United States and the College of Europe, Natolin Campus, took place on July 4-15, 2016.


This year Warsaw Euro-Atlantic Summer Academy, a continuation of former editions, was organized around the following four main thematic blocks connected with politics and regional development: regional security and crisis management, economic development, trans-border cooperation and regional relations with the special emphasis on the role played by local elites.



This year we had the pleasure to host 45 participants from six countries of the Eastern Partnership – Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine. Over two- week stay, the Academy participants attended numerous workshop sessions and lectures given by leading experts in various fields, including: Professor Leszek Balcerowicz, former NBP President, Vice Prime Minister and Finance Minister; Paweł Chorąży, Undersecretary of State at the Ministry of Development; David J. Kramer, former Assistant to the U.S. Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights and Labour; and Dr Karen Donfried, the German Marshall Fund President.



The special guest at the this-year Warsaw Euro-Atlantic Summer Academy was Madeleine Albright, former U.S. Secretary of State, who shared her expertise and experience with the meeting participants.


During their two-week stay at the Academy, the participants went also on a study tour to Lublin, where they had a meeting with Krzysztof Żuk, President of Lublin, and visited the Lublin Science and Technology Park.



On July 15, at the ceremonial Gala ending the present Academy edition, the this-year alumni of WEASA were presented with certificates of the Academy by the representatives of the organizers. We would like to thank all participants for coming and we wish them a lot of success in their career!


Joachim Piotrowski